> Forums
Reply
1
> Rules > Polemos Rules > ECW - coming out of column
TOPIC: ECW - coming out of column
PM nemesisuk
Standard User
Posts: 2
ECW - coming out of column
nemesisuk
11th May 2017 10:31:52

We played these rules tonight, but we had a difference of opinion about the rule regarding coming out of column.

The scene was this - there was a brigade of Dutch Cavalry (four bases) in column, and they wanted to come out of column and deploy. According to the rules, you feed off to the right, and you end up facing the enemy.

Q1. When you feed off to the right, is this classed as a wheel, and in the example diagram in the rules, is it 90 degree wheel?

Q2.Assuming you wheel 90 degress to the right and move 4 base widths, because at this point you are still in column, is it then assumed that the cavalry automatically turn and face the enemy and therefore in line now, so you can deploy out of column and in to line in one turn? Or are you classed as still in column and in your next turn, announce you are turning to face the enemy?

Q3. The "Changing Formation" rules state that once you change formation, you cannot do anything else (move, fire, melee), so is deploying into and out of column classed as changing formation or movement?

Q4 How many TP's does it cost to deploy in and out of column? (as per above example)

Q5. It states that when moving in column there are no extra TP costs (what could there have been anyway?), nor are there any penalties for wheeling. So, can you move after wheeling, as the only penalty we can see is that if you wheel, you cannot meve afterwards?

 

Sorry for all the questions, and if they seem really silly, but we had some heated disagreements about this and really need to get some clarification on the deployinh in and out of column.

 

Ta


PM peter
Administrator
Posts: 340
ECW - coming out of column
peter
17th May 2017 09:32:59

Sorry about the delayed response.  It's tricky getting away from the casting machine at the minute!

 

Q1.  Assuming that the brigade was in March Column, there are no wheeling penalties, so no, it is not a wheel as such.   This will actually involve a lot of actual movement by sub units which are not reflected at the level we are dealing with.

Q2. Assuming that you have paid your TPS and made a formation change you are now treated as being deployed facing the enemy.   

Q3. Moving into or out of march column is treated as changing formation.

Q4. TP costs are the same as moving a brigade as per the table on p.13.  

Q5.  I think that you may be confusing wheeling a line and wheeling while in march column.  The former is restricted, the latter is not.

Does that help?

 

 


- The Overlord
PM nemesisuk
Standard User
Posts: 2
ECW - coming out of column
nemesisuk
17th May 2017 01:24:01

Thank you Peter, I do appreciate you taking time out to answer these questions, as it has cleared up our disagreement.


1
 

LATEST FORUM POSTS

Posting photos to the forum by njt236
19th Oct 2017

12th Light Dragoons by RichSmith
19th Oct 2017

The story so far... by Nick the Lemming
19th Oct 2017

Missing Naps and 19th century colonials by Rene
18th Oct 2017

Waterloo At Recon 2016, Orlando - FL, playing the game! by Nick the Lemming
18th Oct 2017

UPCOMING SHOWS

Fiasco (Royal Armouries, Leeds)
29th Oct 2017

Crisis TBC (Hanger 29, Antwerp)
4th Nov 2017

Warfare (Rivermead Centre, Reading)
18th Nov 2017-19th Nov 2017

Battleground TBC (Stockton on Tees)
26th Nov 2017

Recon TBC (Pudsey Civic Centre)
2nd Dec 2017

LATEST RELEASES

TFF01 - French Regiments (1)TFF01
French Regiments (1)

TFF02 - French Regiments (2)TFF02
French Regiments (2)

TNF02 - Dutch Regiments 2TNF02
Dutch Regiments 2

TNF01 - Dutch Regiments 1TNF01
Dutch Regiments 1

Great War ANZAC - ANZAC Division Pack - MesopotamiaGreat War ANZAC
ANZAC Division Pack - Mesopotamia